Author Topic: Motorcycle Gear  (Read 3711 times)

Nick1911

• Administrator
Motorcycle Gear
« on: May 04, 2006, 09:58:22 AM »
So I know quite a few people on this board ride.  I'm just getting into motorcycling (I take the ABATE Indiana course in a few weeks Smiley )

I need protective gear.  I'm looking at getting a full-face helmet, a good, protective summer jacket, gloves, and maybe chaps.  What would you recommend?  I'm looking for brand recommendations as well as good places to buy, online or otherwise.  The helmet (and maybe gloves) I'm probably going to try to buy locally, so I can make sure it fits alright.

Price isn't a huge concern, I rather value myself - good gear is worth the money; but, I am after all a poor college student.  I'm open to all suggestions.

Thanks!

Cheesy

Monkeyleg

• friend
  • Tattaglia is a pimp.
    • http://www.gunshopfinder.com
Motorcycle Gear
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2006, 01:44:01 PM »
"...I am after all a poor college student."

In that case, you might want to check Ebay or motorcycle forums for good used gear.

There's dozens of good helmets out there. Get one that's Snell approved. If you're thinking about a full-face helmet, try one on and spend some time with it on. I didn't realize I was claustrophobic until I did so.

For summer riding, there's a lot of Gortex suits out there that are breathable. As far as brands go, Hein Gerke is one of the most popular.

Get yourself a good stiff pair of leather boots that will cover your ankles, or higher. If you should wind up with your bike laying on you, and the hot pipes against your leg, you'll thank your boots. There's been a couple of times when I would have needed skin graft surgery if not for a good pair of boots.

I've always wanted a pair of chaps, but never bought them. They do cut down on wind penetration, but they're not insulated. I suspect a lot of HD riders wear them just for style.