Author Topic: Battlefield 1942  (Read 5555 times)

jefnvk

• friend
  • I'll sleep away the days and ride the nights...
Battlefield 1942
« on: March 30, 2005, 11:02:55 AM »
Man, I just started playing BF1942 again, and I can't believe how many bad things there are in this game historically.

The US forces bolt gun is a No. 4 Enfield.
The US Sniper is a Scoped No. 4
The US forces in the Pacific have Garands, not 1903's
There are no 1903's
The US forces in Europe have Enfields, not M1's
The Japanese forces sniper is a K98 (maybe not inaccurate, but I think so)

Those are just off the two maps I have played recently.  In addition, weapon power is random and on the low side.  Chest hit with the M1 should stop a man, but 9 times out of 10 it doesn't.

I remember why I quit playing it now.
I still say 'Give Detroit to Canada'

wasrjoe

Battlefield 1942
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2005, 11:18:56 AM »
I always thought the game looked waaaay too cartoony. Never really enjoyed it too much. Always felt big and sluggish.
Disenchanted with the Libertarian party and seeking practical ways to promote personal liberty.

Azrael256

• friend
Battlefield 1942
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2005, 11:32:16 AM »
Inaccurate?

Download the DC mod and go driving around Iwo Jima in an Abrams while your buddies lay some smack down from the carrier-launched harriers. Smiley

Phyphor

• friend
Battlefield 1942
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2005, 12:05:13 PM »
You forgot about the STG-44, the 8 round M-1911 magazines, (the fact that the russians HAVE 1911s, ) amongst other things.

All that aside, it's still a fun 'escapist' WW2 game..
"You know what's messed-up about taxes?
You don't even pay taxes. They take tax.
You get your check, money gone.
That ain't a payment, that's a jack." - Chris Rock "Bigger and Blacker"
He slapped his rifle. "This is one of the best arguments for peace there is. Nobody wants to shoot if somebody is going to shoot back. " Callaghen, Callaghen, Louis La'mour

mephisto