Author Topic: Chain saw help!!  (Read 7735 times)

Bob F.

• friend
Chain saw help!!
« on: July 08, 2012, 08:41:35 PM »
Chain saw help: history:my little Stihl bit the dust, not many hours on it, thought maybe from the 10% ethanol ???  Local Stihl dealer slow as heck so took it to the Husky dealer, they said piston & cylinder shot, more to fix than a new one. Gave it to a farm boy buddy, he tore it down & said they tried to "force start" it and threw it permanently out of time. Obviously, I'm no mechanic, esp 2 cycle. Input??

Gotta buy another saw, Stihl & Husky both have good reps, but now not sure if I trust the Husky dealer.

Thanks,
Bob
"I always have my primary weapon, it's right between my ears."

roo_ster

• Kakistocracy--It's What's For Dinner.
  • friend
  • Hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats
Re: Chain saw help!!
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2012, 09:31:08 PM »
Chain saw help: history:my little Stihl bit the dust, not many hours on it, thought maybe from the 10% ethanol ???  Local Stihl dealer slow as heck so took it to the Husky dealer, they said piston & cylinder shot, more to fix than a new one. Gave it to a farm boy buddy, he tore it down & said they tried to "force start" it and threw it permanently out of time. Obviously, I'm no mechanic, esp 2 cycle. Input??

Gotta buy another saw, Stihl & Husky both have good reps, but now not sure if I trust the Husky dealer.

Thanks,
Bob

Always used pawn-shop Jonsereds, my own self.
Regards,

roo_ster

“Fallacies do not cease to be fallacies because they become fashions.”
----G.K. Chesterton

zxcvbob

• friend
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2012, 09:36:56 PM »
I like Echo saws.  The biggest problem with them is you can't get parts after about 25 years -- consumable parts like air filters and vibration isolation bushings.   :mad:  The good news is it will last long enough for this to become an issue.