Author Topic: Am I too cynical?  (Read 1792 times)

AmbulanceDriver

• Junior Rocketeer
  • friends
Am I too cynical?
« on: November 22, 2006, 08:37:31 PM »
So for the last few years, I've moved out of working in the field, but instead have worked in our dispatch center.  It worked better with my school schedule while I was going to school full time, and i've stayed there since then.   

For the last two years, the county that I dispatch for requires that I actually work at the county's 911 center.  So I get to hear a lot of the raw, unfiltered, 911 calls.  Now, I had already started to come to this conclusion when I worked in the field, but it's been really reinforced by working up at the 911 center....    911 allows people to live who really are too stupid to live.  While this call is more humorous than frustrating, it went something like this:

911:  911, what's your emergency?
Caller:  My nose is dripping.
911:  Is your nose bleeding?
Caller:  No, it's dripping.
911:  Is your nose dripping blood?   Or a clear liquid?
Caller:  Well, I was outside, and now it's dripping.  (Keep in mind, it was about 40 degrees outside this morning)
911:  So your nose is dripping a clear liquid, or is it actually bleeding?
Caller:  I can't tell for sure.  It looks pretty clear.  BUT IT'S DRIPPING!
911:  Sir, you were just outside.  It's 40 degrees outside.  Your nose is dripping SNOT.  (At this point in time, I'm laughing hysterically about 3 positions down from this calltaker.   You can actually hear me laughing on the 911 tape....  Ooops)
Caller:  Well, I guess that's what it is.  But it's DRIPPING! What should I do?
911:  Sir, I recommend Kleenex.  But there is nothing 911 can help you with.  I have 911 calls holding.  Goodbye.

While this one is admittedly rather amusing, it did tie up a 911 calltaker while there were other 911 calls holding.