Author Topic: Update on my straight razor experience  (Read 830 times)

Snowdog

• friend
Update on my straight razor experience
« on: February 01, 2007, 02:47:50 AM »
I posted a question concerning straight-razor shaving a while ago and figured I’d bring up this old topic for those considering the switch from an electric razor or multi-bladed contraption to a traditional straight razor.

Here’s the original post:
http://www.armedpolitesociety.com/index.php?topic=1294.0

Here’s the update:
I've been using a straight razor exclusively now for 18 months and couldn't be happier! 
Sure, there's a learning curve and I didn't experience really nice shaves until the second week.  Now I expect (and get) a great shave every day and stubble doesn't become noticeable until it's time to shave again. It also no longer takes half an hour to shave.  smiley
I'll admit I went on a buying spree and purchased about a dozen new old-stock razors off e-bay and use only 4 of them regularly (I'm quite partial to the Swedish Eskilstuna razors), but that's part of the learning experience I'm sure.  Plus, they don’t exactly depreciate in value these days.

I still haven't purchased that "new" straight that I mentioned wanting to buy in my first post, even though I still have my heart set on a Theirs-Issard 6/8 with olivewood handle... but I can't possibly justify the $175 when my Swedish and English (Sheffield) 60-year-old Ebay specials give such nice shaves.
The new DOVO I mentioned purchasing in my first post will give a decent shave, but it simply cannot give an excellent shave on-par with the Swedes and Brits regardless how many times I hone it. There's simply something different with the steel....  It'll work in a pinch, but my older razors put the quality of shave to shame.  It also seems to need more stropping before being ready for a shave.  Nothing against Solingen steel, I’m sure DOVO doesn’t offer the best example.