Author Topic: The Peter Principle comes home to roost  (Read 4444 times)

BrokenPaw

• friends
  • Sedit qvi timvit ne non svccederet.
    • ShadowGrove Interpath Ministry
The Peter Principle comes home to roost
« on: February 05, 2007, 11:50:14 AM »
>sigh<  Sorry, just need to vent a little.

I'm a C++ Software Engineer by profession.  13 years of experience in software development, doing C and C++ (and, under duress, FORTRAN, Java, and C#) development, primarily on Unix/Linux platforms. 

I'm a darn good software engineer, too.

As recognition of the fact that I'm the person in my group that has the most comprehensive grip on how our system works, from the viewpoint of interfaces, data flows, and requirements, I have been made the System Engineer/Architect.  Which is to say, I've been removed from the role of software engineer, and placed into a role that could be better described as "people engineer".  I'm now the one who tracks interfaces, and makes sure that if components A and B need to change how they talk, that component C won't be adversely affected.  I'm now the one who tracks features and writes release notes.

I've been removed from my development task (which involved the design and implementation of a part of the system that was absolutely critical for its success).  They've given my piece to a junior guy who is very good in an academic sense, but who has no real-world grip on how our system works (and has to work) in the field.  He's going to make implementation decisions based on perfect-world theory, not on real-world practicality. 

I'm out of my depth.  I'm a software engineer, not a wetware engineer.  I don't want to chase engineers around all day asking them to "pretty please keep your ICDs up to date". 

I was a good software engineer.  I'm going to be bad at this.  I'm already bad at this, and I have no desire to become good at it; it's not where my interest lies.