Author Topic: CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR FAIL SAFE MECHANISM  (Read 431 times)

230RN

• I saw it coming.
  • friend
  • ...shall not be infringed.
CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR FAIL SAFE MECHANISM
« on: July 07, 2023, 07:59:10 AM »
This is something I've never seen before, although I'm not experienced in residential-type medical and safety equipment.

Instrument:  Kidde model KN-COPP-B-LPM carbon monoxide detector, manufactured 03 Oct 2014 , three original Kidde-brand AA cells, device expiration date("Replace by") January 2025 (That suggests a radioactive sensing mechanism, like in a smoke detector.)

See Attachments below.

The issue: Pop-up barriers in battery compartment to prevent closing the battery compartment without replacing the three AA batteries (cells).

I got the thing in about 2015 (?) when they did a remodel of the apartment building's HVAC  system and they moved the furnace stacks from the roof to the side of the building.  I, in my ever-present paranoia, thought I kept smelling incomplete combustion , so I got this thing "just in case."  (Hey, I'm paranoid, right?  I mean I even own GUH-UH-NS, right?)

Anyhow, it gives a nice pleasant little green blink every minute or so to say, "Hey, I'm OK, boss, right here on duty."  It never gave an actual warning alarm despite my hand-wringing paranoia.

But about 4:00 AM this date I was awakened by a loud chirping every minute and it was a low battery warning ("L b") from my little carbon monoxide guardian.

So I opened it up and pulled the three AA cells and tested them and indeed they were pretty  damned low, not surprising, since they were original to the day I got the detector.  Like wow, right?

I wondered about the red arms that popped up when I yanked the batteries, but soon discovered they prevented closing the lid without putting new batteries back in.