Author Topic: Questions About Moving to a More Rural Area  (Read 2964 times)

jj1962hemi

Questions About Moving to a More Rural Area
« on: December 23, 2012, 01:13:08 PM »
I grew up in a big city, while shooting (when it was still legal there, it’s not anymore) occasionally, and fishing regularly (within an hour’s radius frequently, and Canada every summer). I spend 3-4 days every fall fishing in central Kentucky to this day. I am a well-educated professional, married to an at-home mom with the same background, two kids in college, with both my wife and I having blue collar roots and many old school values. I’m an avid reader, shooter, cook and people person. My wife and kids are avid readers, cooks, and involved in lots of typical interests, although all are less of a social bulldozer (I take a few tries before I accept a “snubbing”) than I am. My favorite past time involves a coffee or beer in my hand, B-S-ing with friends.

That’s a slice of our background. My wife and I have been considering a move to a more rural area in retirement (in 10+ years), with lots of contingencies, the biggest of which are where our kids end up settling down. We recognize that any choice we make can impact where the kids end up too, presuming there are job opportunities nearby.

In searching for a place to live, we have always liked the thought of living near water, living in an area where the community is more of a community than in the suburbs of a big city (people helping each other, etc.), a more relaxed pace, less crime, more room to stretch out, affordable housing, cultural activities nearby (maybe in or near a college town), and of course a place for me to shoot, hike, fish, etc.