Author Topic: Help a writer get a gun-related sentence right?  (Read 5123 times)

Monkeyleg

• friend
  • Tattaglia is a pimp.
    • http://www.gunshopfinder.com
Help a writer get a gun-related sentence right?
« on: July 15, 2013, 09:23:21 PM »
I received the email below from the contact page on my site. I don't know Russian guns, so I don't know what to suggest for a word. I thought of "fresh", but that implies the character already expended some rounds, which may or may not be the case. Any ideas?

At least she's trying to be technically correct.

Subject:

cartridge question

Comments:

I'm a fiction writer.  I know next to nothing about guns.  At present I'm working on a story which involves a rifle and I need a descriptive adjective in one particular sentence for the word "cartridge."  The sentence is: "She loaded a _______ cartridge into the chamber."  (It's a Russian sniper rifle that my fictional character is using.)  I've already thought of and mentally rejected "brass cartridge" and "shiny cartridge."  I am now considering "shell cartridge" or "centerfire cartridge" or "_____-tipped cartridge."  Can I ask you how these sound to your experienced ear, and if you have any other suggestions you can offer me that would give my sentence some pizzazz?

Thanks for the help!

dogmush

• friend
Re: Help a writer get a gun-related sentence right?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2013, 09:31:38 PM »
It's a sniper rifle so maybe "handmade" or "hand loaded".

It's a Russian rifle so maybe "60 year old corroded and muddy"

If she wanted to geek out a little "olive drab steel cased cartridge" scrams Soviet 7.62x54R to me.

zxcvbob

• friend
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2013, 09:40:16 PM »
Not every noun needs an adjective.  If none really seem to fit, that's your answer.
"It's good, though..."

Scout26

• I'm a leaf on the wind.
  • friend
  • I spent a week in that town one night....
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2013, 09:56:26 PM »
New

Fresh

Handloaded

Factory