Author Topic: Finally did what I've been threatening to do...  (Read 2583 times)

K Frame

• friend
  • I Am Inimical
Finally did what I've been threatening to do...
« on: January 02, 2007, 04:11:51 PM »
bought a metric tape measure.

Actually, it's more than metric, it has metric/English scales on BOTH the front and rear of the tape, which also makes it very useful for me, a left hander.

Made by Kobalt.

Nice measure.
Carbon Monoxide, sucking the life out of idiots, 'tards, and fools since man tamed fire.

Perd Hapley

• Superstar of the Internet
  • friend
  • My prepositions are on/in
Re: Finally did what I've been threatening to do...
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2007, 08:27:11 PM »
I'm new to the tool market, and haven't seen a lot of Kobalt stuff.  Are they a good label?  Have they been around a while?  I have a pair of their needle-nose pliers, and they seem pretty good. 

Oh, yeah, I forget to say you're a cheese-eating surrender monkey, metric-boy.  Tongue
"Doggies are angel babies!" -- my wife

mtnbkr

• friend
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2007, 02:59:29 AM »
Kobalt's pretty decent.  If what I've heard is true, they're made by the same company that used to make Craftsman for Sears (back when Craftsman was considered "good").  I have a few Kobalt tools and haven't had any problems with them. 

Chris

HankB

• friend
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2007, 03:44:19 AM »
. . . back when Craftsman was considered "good" . . .
Actually, the basic ordinary Craftsman hand tools - screwdrivers, wrenches, etc. - are still good. I have doubts about some of their newer, fancier hand tools (the ones advertised by Bob Villa on the "Craftsman Workshop" cable show) and their power tools have never had the reputation of, say, Black & Decker. (Sadly, B&D has gone seriously downhill on many of their power tools.)

As for Kobalt . . . isn't that basically the house brand at Lowe's?